Holiday Weekend aka My Birthday!

MemorialDay2017artwork
Memorial Day weekend, the kickoff to Summer, entering Gemini season and my birthday!! I’m quite happy my parents had me when they did, because always being able to be outside and with friends knowing you get Monday off makes celebrating a birthday that much more fun.

With that said this mixtape is a mix for the weekend, including some new summer songs, a bit of country, and a bit of a throwback to the boybands of the 2000’s!

This mix definitely didn’t start the way it ended. The goal of this mix was going to be a mix of some laid-back, have a glass of rose, hanging out on a patio feel. Then Friday happened and we got new music from Selena Gomez, Liam Payne, Camilla Capello and I stumbled upon the most random dance song I’d heard in a while, and the music video made me go WTF, so of course I had to include it.

So as I started to map out how I wanted it to sound, and the songs I wanted in it, certain songs I wanted just didn’t fit (Sorry Shawn Mendes, Prides, and Lorde). As I got towards the ending Camilla Cabello’s new jam wasn’t fitting like I wanted, and I almost cut it until I heard something in the chorus, and read an article on BreatheHeavy and read that the song samples Christina Aguilera’s Genie in a Bottle the “ahhh’s” were so obvious so of course I tried to mix in that song with Crying in the Club it didn’t work as well as I wanted so I scrapped it, but as I was doing that I new I needed a song with a latin vibe to mix with Despacito so in the spirit of Christina’s throwback, 98 Degrees Give Me Just One Night (Una Noche) popped into my head and the ending of this mix was born, nothing close to the original idea I had, but I have to say I’m pretty happy how it turned out.

Download

So what mixes are coming up next you ask? I’m creating a custom mix for a friend who is road tripping this summer in a converted school bus (check it out Out West Bus) after that will be an epic Pride mix, that I usually do for the flag football league I play with here in Denver that we use for the float in the parade. Then I’ll be putting together a mix of Colorado artists, as I prepare for my move to Chicago. So until next time enjoy the mix this Memorial Day weekend!

Tracklist:
1. Strip That Down [Feat. Quavo] – Liam Payne
2. Bad Liar – Selena Gomez
3. Best Behaviour – Louisa Johnson
4. Love Me Down – Britney Spears
5. The Cure – Lady Gaga
6. I Know A Place – MUNA
7. Kissing Strangers [Feat. Nicki Minaj] – DNCE
8. Slow Hands – Niall Horan
9. Attention – Charlie Puth
10. No Vacancy – OneRepublic
11. The Way I Are (Dance With Somebody) [Feat. Lil Wayne] – Bebe Rexha
12.You Look Good – Lady Antebellum
13. Body Like a Back Road – Sam Hunt
14. Craving You [Feat. Maren Morris] – Thomas Rhett
15. No More Sad Songs [Feat. Machine Gun Kelly] – Little Mix
16. Under The Sun – Cheryl Cole
17. Crying in the Club – Camila Cabello
18. The Call – Backstreet Boys
19. Give Me Just One Night – 98°
20. Despacito [Feat. Justin Bieber] – Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee
21. Human – Rag’n’Bone Man
22. Batman & Robin (Cutmore Radio Edit) – Cazzi Opeia & Jin x Jin

Update: MacBook crashed so it maybe a week or 2 before the next mix comes out.


Also my thoughts and prayers go out to the family’s and victims of last night’s tragedy in Manchester at the Ariana Grande concert.18620397_1071814559586915_5664459822434348969_n

 

One response to “Holiday Weekend aka My Birthday!

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday America! | Mixtape Curator·

Leave a Reply

